DELTA Model & Five Stages of Analytics Maturity: A Primer

The purpose of this report is to summarize the key elements of DELTA and Five Stages of Analytics Maturity, and discuss how these two frameworks can be used to understand analytical maturity in your organization.

The DELTA Model and Five Stages of Analytics Maturity have become the industry standard frameworks for assessing analytics maturity. The DELTA Model was developed in 2010 by Tom Davenport, Jeanne Harris and Bob Morison in their book, Analytics at Work: Smarter Decisions, Better Results. The Five Stages of Analytics Maturity was developed in 2007 by Tom Davenport and Jeanne Harris in their book, Competing on Analytics.

The five elements of a successful analytics program, as stated in Analytics at Work, are:

  • D for accessible, high quality data

  • E for an enterprise orientation

  • L for analytical leadership

  • T for strategic targets

  • A for analysts

These five elements must be in alignment for organizations to succeed with their analytics initiatives.

Get the report

AMA Data Sheet

Analytics Maturity Assessment

Get the detailed data sheet that includes AMA options, features, plus sample outputs and recommendations.

Download Data Sheet »

Measure. Prioritize. Take action.

Get your Analytics Maturity Assessment.

Find out how well your organization is competing on analytics.